About us

IMPORTANT INFORMATION : BACK TO CENTRE JANUARY 18TH 2022

Dear Pont Viau Vocational Training Student,

With the in-person return to class on Tuesday, January 18, our main goal is to maintain the best possible services and to reduce classroom closures to a minimum, after all other options have been exhausted. This means that flexibility and adaptability remain important and crucial.

The purpose of this communication is to give you the necessary information related to the reopening of our Vocational Training centre to in-person services.

Sanitary Measures

We will continue to diligently follow all public health directives.

Please do not come to the centre in person if you have Covid symptoms, or have tested positive
for Covid-19

Advise your teacher(s) via email and they will direct you as to how to proceed. YOU CAN ALSO REFER TO THE AEVT WEBSITE FOR DIRECTIVES regarding isolation procedures.

  • When entering the building via the main entrance only, the use of the QR code and hand
    disinfection is mandatory
  • Movement in the centre via stairwell #2 only
  • Hand hygiene, physical distancing, whenever possible, and PROPER wearing of the procedural mask is mandatory
  • Our center continues with the regular cleaning and disinfecting of high-touch points

Management of COVID-19 Cases and Symptoms

  • There will no longer be case-by-case management of COVID-19 cases by the Public Health, as such, the centre will no longer be informed of any student COVID cases by the Public Health authorities.
  • Students  are required to monitor their health for any COVID-19 like symptoms and to isolate themselves if any symptoms occur.
  • Students are asked to report their absences to their teacher(s) via email or other means established by  the individual teachers.

Isolation of Vocational Training (VT) Students

If you have symptoms similar to COVID-19 and are double vaccinated, you must isolate for 5 days. After 5 days, you can return to class in the centre if the following 2 conditions are met:

  1. If symptoms have improved or you are symptom-free
  2. If you have not had a fever in 24 hours.

If one of these 2 conditions is not met, you must continue to isolate for 5 additional days.

If the 2 conditions are met, for the next 5 days, you can return to the centre and must wear a procedural mask at all times and respect the distancing of 2 meters, as much as possible.

Health Students on stage are required to consult with their individual teachers as these procedures may require an isolation of longer than 5 days depending on the individual health establishments /institutions.

If you child has COVID-19 like symptoms and are not double vaccinated, you must isolate for 10 days.

Isolation of household/home contacts

Given the high rate of virus spread between home contacts and a person with COVID-19 symptoms (who is considered a positive person even without confirmation by a test), all household contacts of a person with COVID-19 symptoms must isolate from the beginning of symptoms.

  • Contacts 12 years of age and older who are not double vaccinated should isolate for 10 days.
  • Contacts 12 years of age and older who are double vaccinated should isolate for 5 days. If they do not develop symptoms, they can then go about their usual activities, wearing the mask and respect social distancing of 2 meters as much as possible for the following 5 days.
  • Contacts under the age of 12 must isolate for 5 days and it is recommended they have a negative rapid auto-test result before returning to school
  • Contacts who develop symptoms should remain in isolation 5 days following the start of their own symptoms and follow the instructions that apply to COVID cases. There is no need to prolong the isolation of other household contacts who do not have symptoms.

We look forward to welcoming our students back. Thank you for being an invaluable partner in the success of our center.

Should you have any questions, please contact your teacher(s) for further precisions.

The CDC Pont Viau Administration

 

A Message from the CDC Pont-Viau Centre Director

Welcome to Vocational Training at the Sir Wilfrid Laurier School Board.

By visiting our website, you have indicated that you are interested in pursuing your education in the vocational training sector. Whether you are interested in a career in office technologies, hospitality, health care or a skilled trade we have the programs that will suit your needs and interests.

We have a dedicated team of professionals who meet with you individually to discuss your career goals and objectives and develop an individualized plan of success to take you from learning directly into the world of earning.

Our vocational training teachers are industry professionals who work with the most up-to-date Quebec Ministry of Education programs and industry standards to equip our students to enter the workforce prepared and able to succeed.

We have a strong commitment towards achievement and support our students throughout the course of their studies in our centres. Our core values demonstrate and support a strong dedication to professionalism; ethical standards and practices; honesty and integrity; rigor and industry standards.

We celebrate our students, their success and their achievements.

Please watch this short video which will give you an overview of our centre.

Our contact information is listed in detail below, and we encourage you to communicate with us should you wish to discuss your goals and how our services and programs can help you achieve your career goals.

Let us take that next important step on the road to success together!

Heather Halman

Centre Director for Vocational Training at the Sir Wilfrid Laurier School Board

Who we are, what we do, and how to reach us

Heather Halman Centre Director hhalman@swlauriersb.qc.ca
Nicholas Hulse Centre Director Assistant / Pedagogical Consultant (Construction Business Management) /RAC /  Teacher nhulse@swlauriersb.qc.ca
Geraldine Jolin Centre Secretary gjolin@swlauriersb.qc.ca
Tami Belhadj Pedagogical Consultant (All Programs ) / RAC tbelhadj@swlauriersb.qc.ca
Rosetta Calabretta Pedagogical Consultant (Health) / RAC rcalabretta@swlauriersb.qc.ca
Deborah Montalvo Academic and Vocational Information Counsellor dmontalvo@swlauriersb.qc.ca
Obed Dorlean Social Service Agent odorlean@swlauriersb.qc.ca
Anna Bracaglia Project Development Officer /Interim abracaglia@swlauriersb.qc.ca
Anthony Le Phuoc Health Sector Laboratory Technician, Clinical labs (Health)/Interim clephuoc@swlauriersb.qc.ca
Marilou Piscollo School Organization Technician /Interim mpiscollo@swlauriersb.qc.ca
Michelle Champagne Administrative Technician / Interim mchampagne@swlauriersb.qc.ca
Liana Mikhael Office Agent / Interim lmikhael@swlauriersb.qc.ca
George Brown Caretaking gbrown@swlauriersb.qc.ca
Sabrina Baldassare International Student Program sbaldassare@swlauriersb.qc.ca

Follow us on